On December 10, 2015, President Obama signed the “Every Student Succeeds Act” (ESSA) into law which replaces the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) legislation. The law has bi-partisan support and provides more flexibility to the states and local school districts.

Further information about the new law can be found here

The joint statement of the Senate and House Education Committee’s statement on the new law can be viewed here.