Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

New Members Appointed to Universal Service Board

Michael Powell, chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, Dec. 17 appointed eight persons to fill seats on the board of directors of the Universal Service Administrative Company.

Anne Bryant and Anne Leslie Campbell will also be appointed to USAC's Schools and Libraries Committee, which oversees the E-rate program. Bryant, executive director of the National School Boards Association, has filled one of the seats reserved for school representatives since the USAC board was first appointed in 1997. Anne Leslie Campbell, director of the National City(CA) Public Library, was named to replace Kathleen (K.G.) Ouye as the library community's representative to the board. Campbell, who has served as president of the California Library Association, was one of two persons that the American Library Association proposed for the USAC board in October. Campbell also has served as president of the governing board of the National City School District.

Frank Gumper, a public policy consultant to Verizon Communications, was reappointed as the representative of the Regional Bell Operating Companies. Gumper, currently the chair of USAC, previously served on the Schools and Libraries Committee.

Other new appointees to the USAC Board of Directors were:

  • James R. Coltharp, senior director of public policy for Comcast Corp., representing cable operators. Coltharp will fill the seat previously held by Lisa Rosenblum of Cablevision Systems Corp.
  • Diane Cornell, vice president for regulatory policy of the Cellular Telecommunications and Internet Association, representing commercial mobile radio service providers. Cornell will replace Tom Wheeler, president of CTIA.
  • Daniel Gonzalez, vice president, external and regulatory affairs, XO Communications,    representing Competitive Local Exchange Carrier. He will replace Edwin Eichler, president of Pigeon Telephone Company, Pigeon, MI.
  • Billy Jack Gregg, director, Consumer Advocate Division, West Virginia Public Service Commission, consumer advocate representative. He will replace Martha Hogerty of the Missouri Public Counsel's Office.
  • Camie J. Swanson-Hull, commissioner of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission, representative of state utility regulators. He will replace Alan Thoms of the Iowa Public Utility Commission.
question icon

We’re here to help!

Our mission is to provide high-quality consulting and support services for the needs of E-rate program participants. We consult with applicants to help them understand, effectively utilize, and maintain compliance with E-rate rules and regulations. We help prepare and submit paperwork, and interact with program administrators on our clients’ behalf.

Request a Consultation