Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Senate Approves FCC Nominations

On October 29, 2013 the Senate approved Thomas Wheeler to be the next Federal Communications Commission  (FCC) Chairman.  Commissioner Mignon Clyburn has been Acting Chairman since May 2013 when Julius Genachowski stepped down. 

In addition to the approval of Chairman Wheeler, the Senate approved the nomination of Michael O’Reilly to the FCC.  The President nominated Mr. O’Reilly to serve the remainder of Robert McDowell’s term which expires June 30, 2014.  Prior to the nomination, Mr. O’Reilly was on the staff of Senator John Cornyn of Texas.

The FCC will now have a full complement of Commissioners.  The three current Commissioners all released statements of support and look forward to the FCC operating again at full-strength.  With the Senate approvals, the full, five member Commission will consist of:

Chairman: Thomas Wheeler (D)

Mignon Clyburn (D)

Jessica Rosenworcel (D) 

Ajit Pai (R) 

Michael O’Reilly (R)

question icon

We’re here to help!

Our mission is to provide high-quality consulting and support services for the needs of E-rate program participants. We consult with applicants to help them understand, effectively utilize, and maintain compliance with E-rate rules and regulations. We help prepare and submit paperwork, and interact with program administrators on our clients’ behalf.

Request a Consultation