Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

FCC Chairman Announces Departure

On December 15, 2016, Tom Wheeler announced he would step down from the FCC, effective January 20, 2017. Wheeler has served as FCC Chairman for three years. In 2014, under Wheeler’s leadership, the E-rate program underwent its first major reform.
It is customary for the FCC Chair to resign when a new political party takes control of the White House. Chairman Wheeler was nominated by President Obama in May 2013, after the former FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski announced his resignation.  
Chairman Wheeler had this to say in a statement:
“Serving as F.C.C. Chairman during this period of historic technological change has been the greatest honor of my professional life. I am deeply grateful to the President for giving me this opportunity. I am especially thankful to the talented Commission staff for their service and sacrifice during my tenure.
 It has been a privilege to work with my fellow Commissioners to help protect consumers, strengthen public safety and cybersecurity, and ensure fast, fair and open networks for all Americans.”
Chairman Wheeler’s statement can be viewed here in its entirety.
All sitting FCC Commissioners issued statements on Chairman Wheeler’s departure announcement:
question icon

We’re here to help!

Our mission is to provide high-quality consulting and support services for the needs of E-rate program participants. We consult with applicants to help them understand, effectively utilize, and maintain compliance with E-rate rules and regulations. We help prepare and submit paperwork, and interact with program administrators on our clients’ behalf.

Request a Consultation